Karl Ove Knausgaard with Maggie Nelson at Murmrr Lit

September 26, 2018, 7:00 PM

17 Eastern Parkway
Brooklyn, NY 11215

Click here to purchase tickets. Tickets are $25-55.

The full breadth and achievement of Karl Ove Knausgaard’s monumental work becomes evident in this final installment of My Struggle. He will be joined in discussion by writer Maggie Nelson.

In Book Six, Knausgaard grapples directly with the consequences of his transgressive blurring of public and private. Exposing his vulnerability alongside his ambition, Book Six depicts life in all its complexities, from the painful fallout surrounding the publication of the earlier volumes, to the emotional balm that his close friends provide, to the vivid texture of his days as he faces a marital crisis, with his children around him. The book is an exploration of literature itself and of the profound – and at times startling – connection between writer and reader. Knausgaard also includes a lengthy contemplation of Hitler and his Mein Kampf, which not only directly confronts the implications of his own work’s title but feels particularly relevant (if not prescient) in our current global climate of increasing public support for authoritarianism in countries around the world. My Struggle: Book Six offers us an engrossing look into the mind of one of the most groundbreaking writers of our time.

Karl Ove Knausgaard was born in Norway in 1968. His debut novel Out of the World won the Norwegian Critics Prize in 2004 and his A Time for Everything was a finalist for the Nordic Council Prize. My Struggle is a New York Times bestseller and has been translated into more than twenty languages. Knausgaard writes regularly for The New York Times Magazine. In 2010, he co-founded the Norwegian independent publishing house Pelikanen.

Genre-defying writer and 2016 MacArthur fellow Maggie Nelson works at the nexus of memoir, theory, poetry, and autobiography. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling book The Argonauts, which won the 2016 National Book Critics Circle Award, and eight other books, including The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning, Bluets, The Red Parts: Autobiography of a Trial, and Jane: A Murder.