Middle Grade Event: Sophie Escabasse presents "Witches of Brooklyn"

September 3, 2020, 6:00 PM

Sophie Escabasse joins us to present The Witches of Brooklyn, a middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends. This event will take place on Zoom. Recommended ages 8 and up. Register here: 

Having trouble registering? Click here.

There’s a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family.

Effie lost her mom.

Lost her home.

And now she has to live with two strange aunts who she’s never met before.

Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her new magically-inclined family—Effie’s life is about to get interesting.

SOPHIE ESCABASSE is a French author and illustrator who has lived in Brooklyn for 12 years, and recently relocated to Montreal with her husband, three children, and their black cat Terrence. She has illustrated many books for middle grade readers, including Kit Rosewater's Derby Daredevils series (Amulet books); and the Spotlight Club Mysteries series (Albert Whitman) by Florence Parry Heide and Roxanne Heide Pierce's. She has been a graphic novel lover for as long as she can remember and she enjoys fun and expressive characters. Witches of Brooklyn is her debut graphic novel as author and artist.